C.J. Box – Joe Pickett Novels-Cottage Reading

Lately I have become a fan of novel writer C.J.Box, a Wyoming native who has created a wonderful character by the name of Joe Pickett, a Wyoming Game Warden who runs into the worst kinds of trouble in his role of protecting the animals and forests of Wyoming.

Along the way of writing several Joe Pickett novels, C.J.Box has won the Anthony Award, Prix Calibre 38 Award (France), the Macavity Award, the Gumshoe Award, the Barry Award, and an Edgar Award and he’s an L.A. Times Book Prize finalist. Open Season was a New York Times Notable Book and three of the novels have been Booksense 76 picks.

C.J.Box knows something about the life he writes about. He’s a Wyoming native and has worked as a ranch hand, surveyor, fishing guide, a small town newspaper reporter and editor, and he co-owns an international tourism marketing firm with his wife, Laurie. An avid outdoorsman, Box has hunted, fished, hiked, ridden, and skied throughout Wyoming.

To date I have read 4 of the Joe Pickett series and I’ve enjoyed each of them. It’s interesting to learn about the job of a game warden, albeit fictional, but the trials and tribulations of the job are quite interesting. Box tells stories that are interesting, with lot’s of action, plausible scenarios, and enthralling plot lines.

Here are a few of C.J. Box novels, featuring Joe Pickett, Wyoming Game Warden:

Open Season (A Joe Pickett Novel)

Savage Run: A Joe Pickett Novel

Cold Wind (A Joe Pickett Novel)

Free Fire: A Joe Pickett Novel

Below Zero (A Joe Pickett Novel)

© 2011 – 2012, Rob Dares. All rights reserved. Cottager Online/The Cottage Chronicles / Rob Dares material is copyrighted, please contact me if you wish to inquire about reposting etc All prices quoted for products are subject to change, customer is responsible to confirm price with seller.

Leave a Reply